Students Receive Lieutenant Governor Education Medals

Date: Tuesday, April 28 2015 Port Hastings, NS: — At an Awards Ceremony held this afternoon at Dalbrae Academy in Mabou, His Honour Brigadier-General The Honourable J.J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret'd), Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotiapresented selected Grade 11 students with the Lieutenant Governor’s Education Medals. The Lieutenant Governor’s Education Medal is awarded, annually, to students who have demonstrated: - qualities of leadership and service in the school and community; and - commendable performance in the courses in which they are enrolled. “As the Queen's representative, it is a great pleasure to recognize such outstanding young people with this Award. Their determination in achieving their goals and commitment to serving their communities is an inspiration to us all,” said Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant. The 2015 recipients of the Lieutenant Governor’s Education Medals are: Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy Benjamin Fraser Forsyth Alex Mira Poirier Chedabucto Education Centre/Guysborough Academy Meagan Alice Kettley Keaton Joseph Lombardo Dalbrae Academy Siobhan Marie MacDonald Cullen John Hugh MacInnis Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional High School Emma Elizabeth Boudreau Jonas Brenon Lawrence East Antigonish Education Centre/Academy Gabrielle Christine Melanson Dustin Colin Young Fanning Education Centre/Canso Academy Jared Berkley William Dixon Madison Rayne Welsh Inverness Education Centre/Academy Grace Olivia Kennedy Ryland William MacLellan Richmond Education Centre/Academy Alexandra Paige Fraser Dante Michael Theo Samson Strait Area Education Recreation Centre (SAERC) Matthew Leonard Kinsella Morgan Giuliana Gabriella Zovatto St. Mary’s Education Centre/Academy Brendan Lowell Fleet Emma Jessica MacDonald Along with parents/guardians and members of the school communities, many local dignitaries attended the celebration. Following the ceremony, a reception was held for the medal recipients and guests. - 30 - For more information, please contact: Deanna Gillis, Coordinator of Communications, 902-625-7093/1-800-650-4448