Operations Department

Operations Department

Sherman England, Director of Operations

Mr. Sherman England was appointed as Director of Operations on September 9, 2016.  Mr. England previously served as Director of Human Resources for the Strait Regional School Board since August 1, 2007. No stranger to Nova Scotia's education community, Mr. England is a career educator with extensive experience in the public school system, including positions as Teacher, Vice Principal, Principal and Coordinator of Human Resources, a position he held for three years before taking on the positon of Director. Mr. England brings to this senior administrative role excellent leadership skills, human resources management experience and a wealth of expertise related to school improvement and the creation of strong school environments.

Mr. England's formal education includes a Masters of Educational Administration from St. Mary's University, a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Education from St. Francis Xavier University and an Associate in Education Diploma from the Nova Scotia Teacher's College. He has taught at the elementary, junior and senior high levels in schools throughout the Strait Region and served as principal of a number of schools, including East Antigonish Education Centre/Academy, St. Andrew Junior School, Mulgrave Memorial High, East Richmond Family of Schools and MacPherson / St. Joseph's Family of Schools.


The Operations Department is responsible for the provision and operation of safe and efficient facilities and fleet management for the students and staff of the Strait Regional School Board.



If your question, concern or comment is about:



    * Transportation services (bussing)

    * Property services (buildings)

    * Occupational Health and Safety

    * Environmental management

    * School renovations



Please contact:

Holly Wood, Administrative Assistant, Transportation Services; holly.wood@srsb.ca/ 902-747-3645



Belinda Shea, Administrative Assistant, Property Services; belinda.shea@srsb.ca/ 902-747-3647



Bussing emergency telephone number: 902-747-3646; 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.


Operations Department Staff Members

Lou Bona - Manager of Facilities Maintenance; lou.bona@srsb.ca / 902-747-3647

Kevin Pierce - Manager of Transportation; kevin.pierce@srsb.ca /902-747-3630

Alex MacKenzie - Assistant Manager of Fleet Maintenance; alex.mackenzie@srsb.ca / 902-747-3637

Karen MacDonald - Manager of Occupational Health and Safety Programs; karen.macdonald@srsb.ca / 902-747-3647

Kevin Walker, Coordinator of Student Transportation/Boundary Review; kevin.walker@srsb.ca / 902-747-3636

Denise Kelly, Secretary, Transportation; denise.kelly@srsb.ca / 902-747-3642

All above staff can be reached at 902-625-2191 or 902-747-3647.