Jamie Samson Elected as Chair and Richelle MacLaughlin Elected as Vice Chair of the Strait Regional School Board

Ford Rice, Superintendent of Schools, SRSB; Jamie Samson, Chair, SRSB; and Richelle MacLaughlin, Vice Chair, SRSB

Date:  Wednesday, November 1,  2017                                                          

Port  Hawkesbury, NS:  During the Annual Organizational Meeting of the Strait Regional School Board held this evening, Wednesday, November 1, 2017, Jamie Samson was elected as Chair and Richelle MacLaughlin as Vice Chair.  Both positions are for a one-year term and take effect immediately.

Mr. Samson was elected to the Strait Regional School Board in October 2012.  He has served two terms as Vice Chair and this will be Mr. Samson’s first term as Chair.  Mr. Samson has served on several committees including Audit, Policy, Bylaws and Attendance. Upon his election, Mr. Samson thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve in the capacity of Chair. “I look forward to working with my Board Member colleagues and staff to support student achievement and success,” said Mr. Samson.

Ms. MacLaughlin has been a member of the Strait Regional School Board since 2008 and has served one term as Vice Chair from 2012-2013.  She has served on various committees including Policy, Bylaws, Audit, Attendance, Superintendent’s Hiring and Resolutions and serves a Director of the Nova Scotia School Boards Association.  Upon her election as Vice Chair, Ms. MacLaughlin thanked her colleagues for their support. “Thank you for your vote of confidence,” said Ms. MacLaughlin.

The members of the Strait Regional School Board are:

Jim Austin, Central Inverness                                        Rosalee Parker, East Guysborough

Francine Boudreau, East Richmond                               Paula Paul, Mi’kmaq Representative

Chelsea Burke, West Guysborough                                Anne Peters, North Inverness

George Kehoe, West Richmond                                     Barbara Quirk, Town of Antigonish

Mary Jess MacDonald, South Inverness                         Joanne Reddick, African Nova Scotia Representative

Richelle MacLaughlin, West Antigonish                          Jamie Samson, East Antigonish

-30 –



For more information, please contact:

Jamie Samson, Chair, 902-625-7093; jamie.samson@srsb.ca

Deanna Gillis, Coordinator of Communications; 902-625-7093; deanna.gillis@srsb.ca