Congratulations to all Students, Award Recipients and Provincial Winners of the 18th Annual Strait Regional Heritage Fair

Provincial Fair Winners (l-r) Taylor MacIsaac and Keith MacDonnell

Congratulations all students and award recipients who took part in the 18th annual Strait Regional Heritage Fair held on Friday, May 6, 2016, at Mulgrave Memorial Education Centre.   Special congratulations to the following eight award winners:


1st Overall and Provincial Fair:

Keith MacDonnell, Grade 7, Bayview Education Centre; Project – My Harness Racing Heritage

2nd Overall and Provincial Fair:

Taylor MacIsaac, Grade 6, Tamarac Education Centre; Project – Moxham Castle

Showcase Winner #3:

Anna Robinson, Grade 5, St. Andrew Junior School; Project – Latvian – The Story of My Family

Showcase Winner #4:

Noor Mohrez, Grade 7, Chedabucto Education Centre/Guysborough Academy; Project – Refugees in Canada

Showcase Winner #5:

Nelson Leuschner, Grade 7, St. Andrew Junior School; Project – The Early Settlers of West River

Showcase Winner #6:

Brea Campbell, Grade 8, Tamarac Education Centre; Project – Pier 21

Showcase Winner #7:

Lydia MacPherson, Grade 6, Chedabucto Education Centre/Guysborough Academy; Project – Port Shoreham

Showcase Winner #8:

Caroline MacKeen, Grade 6, Chedabucto Education Centre/Guysborough Academy; Project – Orangutan Original

These eight students will attend the Provincial Fair scheduled for June 2 and 3, 2016 at St. Mary’s University in Halifax. Keith MacDonnell and Taylor MacIsaac will also receive a $425 scholarship.

All participating students received certificates and prizes were awarded for first and second place at each grade level.  In addition, awards were presented in the project categories of African Canadian, Acadian, Literacy, Aboriginal, Veterans, Gaelic, Cultural and a Student Choice Award.

The Strait Regional School Board extends sincere thanks to all members of the 2016 Heritage Fair Planning Committee for their ongoing dedication to providing students with an excellent educational opportunity:  Kathy Rhodes, Cathy Cotton, Annamarie Talbot and Mary Ellen Carter.

In addition, thank you to parents/guardians, school board staff and sponsors for their ongoing support of the event and the many judges who volunteer their time to review the outstanding student projects.